top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid Bonnici

Cross-country check flight was more fun than first solo

If ever I was ready for to be tested for my flying it was this, my cross-country check flight.

This involved a straightforward triangular return flight to/from Lethbridge, via Maryborough and Ararat – though I a couple of little birdies had told me expect a diversion and forced landing drill.

Route one almost went off a hitch. Despite scattered cloud and a vibrant crosswind at 6500ft everything unfolded below me as expected and it wasn’t long before I could see YMBU, which stands out like a red scar in the central Victorian countryside.

This was my first baulked landing since starting my navs, but my decision-making won some praise from my CFI – you can do worse than go around on a check flight.

I got down to 1500ft over the town and banked toward the airfield ready to turn left for Runway 35 downwind, or right for Runway 17’s right-hand circuit. One-seven it was.

I turned into downwind a bit too soon and was too high by the time I turned final. Side-slipping wasn’t enough to get me down so I went around well before reaching the fence.

This was my first baulked landing since starting my navs, but my decision-making won some praise from my CFI, Graham – you can do worse than go around on a check flight.

A bit of a break at Maryborough before the next leg of the test.

I lined up again only to watch the windsock swing around to the east. I carried on with a crosswind landing that wasn’t pretty but demonstrated my ability to adapt and remain composed – which certainly hasn’t always been the case.

After a quick break we took off for Ararat. As we approached Mt Avoca, Graham told me to divert toward Streatham. I had overflown this small town a couple of times so was able to quickly locate it on the map. I drew a crude line to it from my current position, estimated a 200-degree heading, and noted the dominant landmarks.

Then the engine started spluttering. I pulled the stick back for the 70 knot glide speed, confirmed the main and magneto switches were on, and checked the fuel valves.

The Tecnam P92 has small fuel valve handles placed on each windscreen pillar. I had the left valve turned off to manage the tanks and rightly assumed Graham had sneakily closed the right valve. I switched the fuel pump and both valves on, and the engine burst into life before I’d barely lost any altitude.

Tecnam at Maryborough Airport Victoria
I was so happy to pass my navs I forgot to take my post-test selfie. Here's one I took earlier during the stop at Maryborough.

Pleased with that, Graham told me to get my iPad out and plot a course to Lethbridge using Oz Runways – his thinking being I was going to use it so I might as well show I could.

I followed the magenta line until everything became familiar and from there everything was routine enough for me to forget the obligatory “I passed” selfie.

It was a low-key ending to my most significant flight training achievement yet.

Now I really feel like a pilot. Knowing that I can now fly almost wherever I want has made the bug even stronger. All I need to do now is decide where to go.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page