top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid Bonnici

RPC to RPL: What's really involved?

Updated: Dec 17, 2019

I decided in the middle if 2019 to convert from RPC to RPL so I could fly closer to home and expand my flying options.

At the time I thought it would simply be a matter of getting my medical, ASIC, filling in a few forms, and jumping back in a Warrior or Cessna 172 to show I still had it after previously making the switch from GA to RA-Aus training.

However, there was a bit more to it than expected.

In August my medical went off without a hitch and my ASIC surprisingly arrived within two weeks (I recommend Veritas), so I gathered all the information and documents required to full out the CASA form 61-1RTX.

It’s important to know it’s more than just a paper shuffling exercise and, like everything else with flying, it ain’t cheap!

Meanwhile I had arranged to go back to Ballarat Aero Club to get checked out, but being winter, and Ballarat, that failed to eventuate so the process kinda stalled until October.

One mistake I made in the intervening period was thinking I needed to do a flight review before sending the paper work in. You don’t need to wait. If approved you’ll get your RPL sent to you but you won’t be able to fly alone until the flight review is signed off on the licence.

I had planned to join the Royal Victorian Aero Club at Moorabbin Airport, so I figured I’d have to fly with an instructor to get the radio calls and controlled airport procedures right so I might as well kill a couple of birds. I joined, started training and also ticked off my English Language assessment.

My first flight in a Warrior for a few years went quite well, but my radio calls had a lot to be desired. To cut a long story short I had about five lessons before I finally had an opportunity to do my flight review because of the complexity of flying out of Moorabbin.

Having flown out of Lethbridge I never had to worry about changing transponder codes and using dual comms to juggle between Ground, Tower, Area and ATIS frequencies in the training area.

And even thought I had flown Warriors and 172s before I had to get out of the Rotax habit and get used to things like the mixture control and carburetor heat.

The actual flying and landing was the easy part, though I’m damned if I’ll ever get a forced landing drill right.

So even if you’re switching from light sport to GA aircraft at the same airport and flying school, expect there to be a learning curve and set aside time and money for a few lessons. Of course if you’ve had no prior GA training you’ll need a couple of hours of instrument time so be sure to add that too.

I finally completed my flight review last weekend – it wasn’t pretty but I got there and have a signed RPL to show for. Ooh, I should point out the flight review has quick theory element before it so brush up on things cloud heights and distances, and weight and balances. With the latter you're best working it out before you get there, but be able to show your calculations.


RPC to RPL process and costs

Here’s a rundown of what the process and costs were for me, though I have given a ballpark figure for flight training as that’s going to vary depending on where and what you fly and if you have to pay landing fees.

One good thing was because I’m an RVAC member I didn’t have to pay for instructor time for the flight review – though the membership fee is $180.

It will be different depending on your experience and where you covert, but it’s important to know it’s more than just a paper shuffling exercise and, like everything else with flying, it ain’t cheap!

  • ASIC application - $288.20

  • Class 2 Medical DAME fee – $209

  • Class 2 Medical CASA fee - $65

  • RPL application fee - $55

  • English language assessment - $110

  • 5.3 hr flight instruction /revision - $2067

  • 1.1 hr Fight review - $292

TOTAL: $3086.20


(I kinda wish I didn’t add that all up. But it has been worth it.)

It took just over five months for me to go through the process, though I can strike a month off due to weather.

It was a little longer than I hoped, but then I think back to July when I booked a Cessna 172 for flight with an instructor from Luqa International Airport in Malta; I was transfixed by the ATC chat and never thought I’d ever be able to fly in controlled conditions by myself.

Fast forward not even six months and I’m really enjoying the extra dimension that using a busy controlled airport brings to my flying. And responding to ATC with “cleared take-off, Tango Papa Whisky” and pushing the throttle forward will never get old.

804 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page